Undo a changeset

In the Changesets module, you can see an ongoing record of all changes made to the components in your Inspire instance. To remove the changes made to the current component in a changeset, go to the Changesets tab and select Undo. This action removes changes to attributes, tagging, and content.

To access the Changesets module, you must have one of the following:

  • Administrator permissions
  • Changesets module permissions

Administrators can grant access to the Changesets module by following the steps in Allow non-Admin users to work with changesets.

Tips and tricks

  • You can only access the Undo action from the Changesets tab. This action is not available on the Histories tab.
  • When you undo a changeset, one of the following occurs based on the Action you are trying to Undo:
    • Update, Review, Submit, Translate. If the selected changeset contains a content change, the current component is overwritten with the most recent snapshot that contains a content change.
    • Create, Move, Publish, Rename. If the selected changeset does not contain a content change, the current component is overwritten with the previous snapshot.
  • You cannot undo a changeset where the Action is Delete. You can use the Show Deleted option to filter the list of changeset records and see only those where the Action is Delete.

    The only option available when you select the Options menu is to Restore the deleted items.

    If the component already exists, you see an error that the component cannot be restored because it exists.

  • Check your snapshots. If you aren't sure if you want to Restore or Undo, you can:
  • This action might not undo recent changes made after the selected changeset.

You can also revise the current component using a changeset in the following ways:

If a change was made to multiple components at once, such as is possible with the Move option, this action can impact multiple components. Be sure to look in the Components column to see the list of all components included in the changeset.

Previously, multiple changeset records were created when you selected Rename. If the component was referenced by other components, a separate changeset record was created for each file that is updated to reflect the new name.

Now, only one changeset record is created that lists all impacted components for a file rename.

To undo changes in the current components that are in a changeset:

  1. In the top menu, select Changesets.
  2. Select the Changesets tab if it isn't already open.
  3. On the Changesets screen, find the changeset you want to undo.

    You can use the details in the grid to find more information about what changes were made in a changeset:

    • Changeset Date
    • User
    • Action and Process Type
    • The list of Components that were changed.

    You can also use the following tools to narrow the list:

  4. In the changeset's row, click the Option menu and select Undo.
  5. On the Undo Changeset screen, click Yes.

  6. Enter a comment or leave empty, and then click Save.
    Note: To restore without comments, click Cancel (X button).
  • On the Changesets screen, a new entry is added for your Undo action.
  • In the Components browser, select a component in the changeset, right-click it, and select Details. On the History tab, you can see the snapshot that was created with the changes.
  • In the Components browser, you can open the components and verify the changes were undone.