Publish your content

After structuring and developing your content in Inspire, you can publish components in a format your customers can read. You can select a transformation configuration provided by Inspire or use your own plug-in to transform DITA content into formats such as PDF and HTML output.

An Inspire administrator can define at the user and role level whether the Publish action is available.

    • By default, only administrators can publish content in Inspire.
    • If a user is an administrator or has been added to the can_publish module property, that user can publish in the following places:
      • Content Browser — from the right-click menu, the Options menu, and the Selected components panel
      • Projects — from the right-click menu, the Options menu, and the Selected components panel
      • Publishing — for a publishing Profile from the right-click menu, and the Options menu
    • The ability to publish from a snapshot is not affected by this module property.

Topics in this article

Follow best practices for publishing notifications

If you have changed any default notification settings, before you publish content, make sure you have configured your publishing notifications if you want to see them.

Follow the steps in: Set notification preferences for publishing.

Understand the notification preference for when a publishing request is queued:

By default:

  • Existing users don't have this new notification feature selected. This means that they are not notified in Inspire, email, or Slack if a job is queued when they send a component to be published.

    There is a known issue with this new notification feature. Existing users can't publish until they select at least one option for the new Notify when a publishing request is queued notification:

    1. In the top right corner of the Inspire menu bar, click the Settings option.
    2. On the Notifications screen, scroll down to the Publishing notification settings, and in the gray title bar, select On if it isn't selected.
    3. In Notify when a publishing request is queued, select at least one option, such as In-app.
    4. Click Save.

      Results:

      • Existing users can now publish.
      • Existing users can go back to Settings and clear the options for Notify when a publishing request is queued if they don't want to receive the notification. Clearing this option will not impact an existing user's ability to publish.
  • New users will have this feature checked by default and are notified when they send a component to be published.

Automatically reuse publishing settings

To streamline repeat publishing tasks, Inspire can now remember publishing settings on a per-component basis without a publishing profile. When a component is published, the settings used are saved and automatically reused the next time that same component is published.

After you publish a component, the following settings can be retained:

  • Publish Name
  • Export Configuration (Publish)
  • Selected Filters
  • Selected Ditaval
  • Validate XML option
  • Create Attachment option and Target Folder

An administrator must enable the Remember Publishing Settings By Component feature. Admins can follow the steps in: Remember publishing settings.

With this feature enabled:

  • Opening the Publish dialog for a component restores the settings used during its most recent publication.
  • It is recommended that you discourage users from selecting anything in Publish Configuration when this feature is enabled. If they do, publishing settings are not remembered.
  • Other users can modify the publishing settings at any time, and the updated choices will be saved for future publications of that component.

    For a more permanent collection of settings that other users can't modify, you can create a publishing profile. Follow the steps in: Work with publishing profiles.

  • This enhancement reduces repetitive setup, improves consistency across publishing cycles, and makes it faster to republish components using previously selected options.