Cancel a GlobalLink Portal translation job

If a component is sent to translation using GlobalLink Portal, you can cancel the translation job from GlobalLink Portal. Canceling the job this way also unlocks all components in Inspire used in the translation job.

Required Permissions

  • For full access to all translation jobs, you must be an administrator.
    • An admin can edit and cancel any translation job regardless of Translation module permissions.
    • To configure permissions, administrators can follow the steps in: Update module access permissions.
  • For full access to your own jobs, you must be a coordinator.
    • Coordinators retain access to their own jobs regardless of Translation module permissions.
    • A user who is the coordinator of a job can still edit and cancel it even if they have no explicit Translation module-level Update permission.
  • To edit and cancel any translation job, a non-admin user must have both the Read and Update permissions for the Translation module.
  • To see all jobs, a non-admin user must have the Read permission for the Translation module.

Tips and tricks

  • GlobalLink Portal was formerly known as GlobalLink Transport.
  • If you aren't sure what method is being used to send components to translation, refer to the following steps and look at the Vendor: Open the View Translation screen.
    • If the Vendor says GlobalLink Portal, then you can use these steps.
    • For any other type of vendor, cancel the job in Inspire. Follow the steps in Cancel a translation job.
  • If most of a translation job is done, instead of canceling the job, you can force a State of Completed. This is helpful if you have a job with multiple components, and most of which are translated, but the rest are canceled. Also, sometimes you know that one component you sent for translation will never come back. This causes the State of the job to remain Partially Completed. You can decide the job is done and manually set the State to Completed. Follow the steps in Force a translation job to be Completed.

  • You can reset a canceled translation job and translation components.

    • If a job is canceled in Inspire, resetting the job changes its State back to In Progress.
    • Resetting a job in Inspire has no impact on the job in GlobalLink Enterprise (formerly known as Project Director). A user in GlobalLink Enterprise must reset the workflow there.

    Reset a translation job

To cancel a translation job in GlobalLink Portal:

  1. Sign in to GlobalLink Portal.
    After a translation job is successfully created, Inspire locks the components and GlobalLink Portal lists the job as a Submission.

  2. In GlobalLink Portal, open the submission that matches the translation job name used in Inspire.
  3. On the Submission screen, click Override.
  4. On the Caution screen, in New Status, select Cancelled per your request, and then click Save New Status.
  5. On the Submission screen, to save your changes, click Save Submission Specs.
    Results:
    • In Inspire, on the Translation Management tab, the translation job State changes to Cancelled.
    • In Inspire, the components used in the translation job are unlocked .
    • Check for target files. In translation, a target file is a copy of the source file that can be translated into a different language.
      • When you send a component to translation, Inspire creates a target file for each language you include in the translation request. This target file includes the original source content.
      • If you cancel a translation job before a target file is translated, then Inspire removes the target file.
      • If you cancel a translation job after a target file is translated, then Inspire leaves the target file even though the translation job was cancelled. This allows you to retain the translated file.