Reset a translation job in Inspire

If a job is canceled in GlobalLink Enterprise (formerly known as Project Director) or Inspire, you can reset its Status to complete the job normally. Resetting a job in Inspire does not affect the job in GlobalLink Enterprise. A user in GlobalLink Enterprise must reset the workflow there.

Required Permissions

  • For full access to all translation jobs, you must be an administrator.
    • An admin can edit and cancel any translation job regardless of Translation module permissions.
    • To configure permissions, administrators can follow the steps in: Update module access permissions.
  • For full access to your own jobs, you must be a coordinator.
    • Coordinators retain access to their own jobs regardless of Translation module permissions.
    • A user who is the coordinator of a job can still edit and cancel it even if they have no explicit Translation module-level Update permission.
  • To edit and cancel any translation job, a non-admin user must have both the Read and Update permissions for the Translation module.
  • To see all jobs, a non-admin user must have the Read permission for the Translation module

Tips and tricks

  • Project Director has been renamed to GlobalLink Enterprise.
  • You can only reset a translation job with a Status of Completed or Cancelled.
  • Resetting the translation job (and translation components) changes the Status to In Progress.
  • A GlobalLink Enterprise user must reset the job in GlobalLink Enterprise before resetting the translation job in Inspire.
  • Before resetting a translation job, make sure the files in the job are unlocked.
    • After a job is canceled, all the files included in it are unlocked.
    • If there are any components that have been locked again, the process will fail.
    • You will receive an email notification listing the components that are locked.

To reset a translation job in Inspire:

  1. Select Translations_TopMenuOpt Translations.
  2. On the Translations Management tab, in the list, find the Completed or Cancelled translation job you want to reset.
    If you can't find the job you're looking for, do any of the following:
    • If there are multiple pages, scroll to the next page using the controls at the bottom of the list.
    • Sort the list by clicking a column heading.
    • Search for items in the list that contain a keyword or phrase.
    • Limit the list to show only jobs in the Canceled state. By default, the options for Include Completed and Include Cancelled are already selected.
  3. Right-click the job or use Action_Menu the Options menu to select Reset.
    If the Reset option isn't available, make sure the translation job has a Status of Completed or Cancelled.
  4. On the Reset Translation screen, click Yes.
    Results:
    • If there are any locked components, the process will fail. You will receive an email notification listing the locked components.

    • If the process completes successfully, all components in the reset translation job are now locked.

    • All components in the reset translation job now have a Status of In Progress.

    • You won't see any information for Completed Date and Completed By User.

    • You see the information for Updated Date and Updated By User set to the current date and user.

    • Resetting a job in Inspire has no impact on the translation job in GlobalLink Enterprise.
      • A user with GlobalLink Enterprise login credentials must reset the workflow in GlobalLink Enterprise.
      • As a best practice, you should reset the job in GlobalLink Enterprise before resetting it in Inspire.
    • As the translation coordinator, you'll receive an email notification for the translation job you reset.
    • When you complete a task that triggers a notification, such as managing translation jobs, the Slack and email message bodies contain:
      • The name of the job that was cancelled.
      • The notification with ten or fewer Issues, Errors, and Warnings.
      • A link at the bottom of the message [See Full Version].
      • You can click the [See Full Version] link to expand a section under the link with the full details.